University of Nebraska

University of Nebraska

University of Nebraska is also known as UN according to It is an educational institution of international stature classified as a public research university based in Lincoln, Nebraska, United States. It is the oldest and largest university in the state.


It was created in 1869, two years later statehood came to Nebraska. The institution was given the mission of “affording the inhabitants of the state the luxury of acquiring a deep knowledge of the various branches of literature, science, and the arts.”

Construction of the campus began with the construction of Hall University in its first year. Before 1873, the University of Nebraska had offered its first graduates. It then suffered from a lack of funds until about 20 years after its founding, when a new state education system took over its high school programs.

From 1890 to 1895 enrollment increased from 384 to around 1,500. A law school and graduate school were also created in this time period, making it the first west of the Mississippi to establish graduate schools.

Between 1913 – 1914, there was an intense debate about whether to keep the University in downtown Lincoln or move it out of town. The problem was not resolved until a statewide referendum sided with the city plan. After purchasing the center of the property, the school experienced a construction boom, both on the new property and on the agriculture campus. The school would not experience another boom until the 1940s, when the sudden arrival of thousands of soldiers returning from the war for an education forced the school to seek further expansion.


The university is organized into eight colleges, located on two campuses in Lincoln, with more than 100 classroom buildings and research centers.

Students are selected based on high academic achievement, exceptional leadership experience, demonstrated interest in computer science and business, and career goals. A balanced education in technology and management is offered, while developing professional competencies in leadership, communication and collaboration.

University of Nebraska

The University Libraries are a set of comprehensive research libraries in Nebraska. it has more than 3.5 million volumes. Memorial Library is the main campus library and houses collections on the social sciences and humanities

Other libraries are

  • ArchitectureLibrary
  • CY Thompson Library
  • Engineeringlibrary
  • GeologyLibrary
  • MathematicsLibrary
  • Musiclibrary
  • The Marvin and Virginia Schmid Law Library serves the College of Law

The University of Nebraska museum is located on campus at Morrill Hall. The museum has several collections and exhibits especially on natural history and houses famous fossil bones. Because of these fossils and a gigantic bronze statue in front of the building, it is popularly known as “Elephant Hall.”

The Sheldon Memorial Art Gallery and Sculpture Garden is home to more than 12,000 works of art and is a comprehensive collection of American art depicting American Impressionism, from early modernity, geometric abstraction, abstract expressionism, pop, the minimalism and contemporary art.

The museum has the largest collection of art that includes works by such well-known artists as Edward Hopper, Andy Warhol, Jackson Pollock, Mary Cassatt, Wayne Thiebaud, and Georgia O’Keeffe.

The F. Tractor Larsen Lester Museum is located on the University’s East Campus. It houses 40 historic tractors, a vintage car, and various types of farm tools, and documents the proof tests to tests required by tractors sold in Nebraska, ensuring performance is as advertised.


Currently, the university has the faculties of:

  • Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • architecture facuilty
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Business Administration
  • Faculty of Educationand Human Sciences
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Journalismand Communication
  • law School

Personalities awarded the Nobel Prize

  • George Beadle Scientist; Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1958)
  • Donald Cram Chemist; Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1987).
  • Alan Heeger Chemist; Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2000).


  • The University of Nebraska established the world’s first psychology laboratory.
  • The discipline of ecology was born here, and the campuses reflect that tradition, being recognized as botanical gardens.
  • The university’s vehiclefleet includes vehicles powered by soy biodiesel, as well as gasohol (85% ethanol, 15% gasoline blend).
  • As of 2009, university cafeterias no longer provide trays for students, due to a program implemented to reduce organic waste and save money.
Comments are closed.