University of Labor of Uruguay

University of Labor of Uruguay

University of Labor of Uruguay. Also known as the Technical and Professional Education Council, it is an institution that offers professional scientific, technical and technological education in accordance with the national strategic guidelines in the social and productive sphere. It was created in 1942 and is located in Montevideo.


The Uruguayan Labor University (UTU) dependent on the Council of Professional Technical Education, was created by Decree Law 10,225 of September 9, 1942.


The institutional objectives are:

  • Provide basic and high-tech education through multi-purpose and comprehensive training that prepares young people to actively participate in the economic and social development of the country.
  • Encourage in students the capacities for lifelong learning and for the discovery of their own aptitudes and vocations.
  • Attend to the training of the country’s human resources through technical qualifications at a medium or higher level and / or through training, updating or improvement actions.
  • Enable access to tertiary level studies.


Its mission is to offer a relevant, quality professional scientific-technical-technological education, in accordance with the national strategic guidelines in the social and productive. From this perspective, the Universidad del Trabajo del Uruguay will focus on developing differentiated and innovative educational policies, with training proposals that address all dimensions of the Human Being. That enables young people and adults, democratic participation as a social being and their real insertion in production, arts and services, with knowledge not only as an added value, but as an essential element to critically and constructively integrate into the world of work.


An Institution of Technical-Technological and Professional Education with:

  • Relevant and quality educational proposals of medium and tertiary level, in their different modalities and orientations, projected through a planned work, of a pro-active, strategic and flexible nature, from the widest spaces of dialogue with society and actors of the world of work.
  • An institution in which work is conceived: as a figure that generates social values; as a generator of prosperity, but also a generator of trust, security, solidarity; and as one of the main areas of human creativity.

University of Montevideo (Uruguay)

The mission of the University of Montevideo is to promote a culture of work and service in the person, family and society, through the search for excellence in university work, it is a private university located in Montevideo, Uruguay. He began his academic activities in 1986. In 1997 he obtained the legal title of University and was renamed “University of Montevideo”.


The emergence and origins of the University of Montevideo date back to November 25, 1986 in this same year the first academic activities were carried out by a group of young and professional visionaries, who years later would become the founders of the University of Montevideo.

In March 1987, a Postgraduate Degree in Business Law was launched, with an interdisciplinary approach. The Postgraduate course was dictated by doctors Santiago Pérez del Castillo, Carlos Delpiazzo and Alberto Faget, specialists in Labor Law, Administrative Law and Tax Law respectively.

In 1990, the Master in Business Law was launched. As of 1991, the Master in Tax Advice for Companies is taught. In March 1992, the Master Program in Business Management and Administration was inaugurated.

In 1997, on April 29, the IEEM Civil Association was authorized to function as a private university by decree 358/997 and was renamed “University of Montevideo”, according to decree No. 308/995 of August 11, 1995 issued by the Power Executive, which created the legal framework for the operation of private universities in Uruguay. The decree required the existence of three areas of knowledge for the official recognition of a University. The three recognized faculties at the time were the Faculty of Law, Faculty of Business Sciences and Economics, and the Faculty of Engineering. The Business School retained the original name of Instituto de Estudios Empresariales de Montevideo Business School (IEEM). In 1998, the Faculty of Humanities was created; in 1999, the Center for Biomedical Sciences was created; and in 2002,


  • Faculty of Business Sciences and Economics
  • law School
  • Faculty of Communication
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Business School (IEEM)
  • Center for Biomedical Sciences
  • Higher Institute of Education (INSE)

The University has the following Departments and Services that work in conjunction with the Faculties:

  • Directorate of International Relations.
  • Documentation and Library Department.
  • Department of foreign languages.
  • Department of Internships and Professional Exits.
  • Sports Secretariat.
  • Communication and Marketing Department.
  • Press and Information Office
  • Directorate of Studies and Teaching.


  • It is the Uruguayan university that has the most operational exchange agreements with the best universities in England, the United States, New Zealand and Ireland.
  • The University of Montevideo awards the first “Honoris Causa” Doctorate to Engineer Eladio Dieste, a prominent member of the National Academy of Engineering.

University of Labor of Uruguay

Comments are closed.