University of Arizona

University of Arizona

University of Arizona is also known as UAZ according to, recognized institution of Higher Education in the United States that is located in Tucson, Arizona. The University was founded in 1885. Among its most important academic programs, those of optical sciences, astronomy and astrophysics stand out. It has a rich history of presence and collaboration in Latin America through its Center for Latin American Studies and other academic units at the University.


Despite having a rocky start, with no Tucson resident willing to donate their land to its creation, the university has evolved over the years to become one of the top state universities in the western United States..

This university is the first institution of higher education in Arizona and is the one with the greatest ethnic diversity in the State, it is an active part of the Latino community in the region. At the institution, the enormous value represented by a community made up of university students, faculty and staff from various corners of the world, driven by their talent, creativity and commitment to excellence, is recognized.

The University of Arizona is a student-centered educational institution. It is considered one of the main public research universities nationwide. This means that at university, undergraduate and graduate students have the opportunity to participate in research activities in virtually all disciplines related to science, humanities and the arts.

Arizona offers more than 200 programs and courses, from undergraduate degrees to graduate and master’s courses, all taught in colleges and universities.

University of Arizona

Educational Centers

Faculties and schools

  • Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • Architecture, Planning & Landscape Architecture
  • Business & Public Administration, Eller
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Fine arts
  • Health Professions
  • Honors College
  • Humanities
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy
  • Public Health
  • Science
  • Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • University College
  • UA South

Other activities

With more than 600 student clubs and organizations, students have at their disposal a very wide variety of options to live together socially and continue their education outside of the classroom.

Entertainment and cultural activities also have a place on this campus, making it one of the most important cultural centers in the American Southwest. In this way, you can enjoy not only magnificent museums and art galleries, but also an extensive catalog of concerts, exhibitions, conferences and other activities.

These activities include, as might be expected in an American university, the importance given to the teams that defend the colors and the name of the university in different sports competitions.

Relevant data of the Institution

The UofA is one of the universities that has received the distinction from NASA to participate in its space exploration program. Within the framework of this program, in 2008 the University served as the main institution and headquarters of the Phoenix Mission control center, which successfully carried out a remote exploration at one of the poles of the planet Mars to verify the existence of water.

The University of Arizona is also recognized for having one of the best academic programs in the United States in the areas of hydrology, hydrogeology, philosophy, and anthropology, among others.

In a study published in 2007 in The Washington Monthly, the University of Arizona was ranked 25th in the US among universities that best serve society. The study conducted among 242 universities measured factors such as social mobility, research, and community service.

New York University

New York University. It is a private American institution of higher education located in New York City. Created in 1831, it was inaugurated a year later as the University of the City of New York; the current name was adopted in 1896. With an enrollment of more than 47,000 students, it is the largest private university in the United States. It awards professional, bachelor’s, postgraduate and doctor degrees.


New York University was founded on April 18, 1831, by a group of prominent New Yorkers.

University Sections

Most of the University sections are located on the Washington Square campus, in lower Manhattan, which includes the College of Arts and Sciences, the Tisch School of the Arts, with studies in performing and expressive arts, the Gallatin section, which offers individualized programs, schools of business, social work and law, graduate schools of arts and sciences, public services and continuing education.

Expansion and growth

New York University has grown to now comprise 14 partner schools and institutions. It has 6 large centers in Manhattan and its own facilities in London, Paris, Florence, Prague, Madrid, Berlin, Accra and Shanghai.

Medical Center

The New York University Medical Center comprises Tisch Hospital, the School of Medicine, the Graduate Medical School, and the Rusk Rehabilitation Institute. Nearby is the David B. Kriser Dental Center, which houses the College of Dentistry and the Institute for Dental Research.

Cultural and Research Centers

Among the other cultural and research centers are the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, where advanced research in applied mathematics is carried out; the Institute of Fine Arts, a section of the graduate school of arts and sciences, offers courses in art history and art conservation. The Elmer Holmes Bobst Library and Study Center, with some two million volumes, serves the entire University, serving the individual libraries housed in several of the schools.

Comments are closed.