Rutgers University

Rutgers University

Also known as RU according to, Rutgers University New Jersey State University, Rutgers, has been one of the most prestigious national and international state universities since 1766, being one of the few American institutions that can boast of having a history that dates back to colonial times. Its more than 50,000 students are enrolled in one of the thousands of courses the university offers at its three campuses: Camden, Newark and New Brunswick. All fields of human knowledge are found in one of the faculties and schools of this university. It is a public institution of higher education that offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs; in the areas of: Pharmacy, Psychology, Education, Arts, Business, Communication, Nursing, Engineering and Social Work.


Originally constituted as Queen’s College in 1766, it is the eighth oldest university in the United States. Rutgers was originally a private university affiliated with the Dutch Reformed Church admitting only male students; Later it evolved and is currently a non-sectarian, mixed and public research university that does not maintain religious demands on its students. Rutgers is one of only two colonial universities that later became public universities.

For most of its existence, Rutgers was a private liberal arts university affiliated with the Dutch Reformed Church and admitted only male students. The university has expanded its role in research and teaching in agriculture, engineering and science when it was named as the only state land grant university in 1864 under the Morrill Act of 1862. It gained university status in 1924 with the introduction of college education and further expansion. However, it became a public coeducational research university after being designated “The State University of New Jersey” by the New Jersey Legislature in laws enacted in 1945 and 1956 it is one of only two colonial colleges to later be they became public universities.

Rutgers University


Rutgers has three main campuses, located in New Brunswick City and adjacent Piscataway Township, Newark and Camden, with additional New Jersey facilities elsewhere. Instruction is offered by 9,000 faculty members in 175 academic departments to 40,000 undergraduate students and 25,000 graduate and professional students.

In 1982, under the presidency of Eduardo J. Bloustein, the liberal arts colleges were centralized into a single university, the College of Arts and Sciences, but residential colleges persisted for students, along with separate, good admission standards. status, and graduation. Finally, in the fall of 2007, the residential liberal arts colleges (Rutgers, Douglass, Livingston, and University) and the College of Arts and Sciences were merged into the new School of Arts and Sciences with a set of criteria admission, study plans and graduation requirements. Cook College, the residential science college, changed its name to the School of Biological and Environmental Sciences.

In 2013, the majority of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey was comprised of Rutgers University and, along with several existing Rutgers units, was reformed as Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences.


It currently has the following faculties and schools:

  • Edward Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
  • Ernest Mario Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Graduate School-Camden
  • School Graduation-Newark
  • School-New Brunswick
  • Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology
  • School of Education Graduation
  • Mason Gross School of the Arts
  • Rutgers Business School: Graduation Programs-Newark / New Brunswick
  • Camden School of Business
  • School of Librarianship of Communication, Information and
  • School of Criminal Justice
  • Camden College of Law
  • Newark Law School
  • School of Administration and Labor Relations
  • School of Social Work

Nobel Prizes

Two former students have been awarded Nobel prizes

  • Milton Friedman, in Economics
  • Selman A. Waksmanin Medicine

It was at Rutgers that Selman Waksman (1888-1973) discovered various antibiotics, including actinomycin, clavacin, streptothricin, grisein, neomycin, fradicin, candicidin, candidin, and others. Waksman, together with graduate student Albert Schatz (1920-2005), discovered streptomycin, a versatile antibiotic that was to be the first applied to cure tuberculosis. For this discovery, Waksman received the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1952.


  • Rutgers University claims to be the birthplace ofcollege football, as the first college game in history was played there, playing against the College of New Jersey (now Princeton University) on November 6, 1869
  • Libraries are also spread across the three campuses, with most of them located on the New Brunswick Thanks to its website you will be able to consult not only the bibliographic collections and the rest of the resources that each one of them have, but also, and more importantly, their location, hours and norms of loan and reading
  • The college was renamed Rutgers College in 1825 in honor of Colonel Henry Rutgers(1745-1830), a New York City landowner, philanthropist, and former army officer, whose generous donation to the school allowed it to reopen after years of financial difficulties
Comments are closed.