Brown University

Brown University

Also known as BU according to, the Brown University is a private university located in Providence in the State of Rhode Island. It is one of the eight universities that make up the Ivy League.


Brown University is the seventh oldest university in the United States. Founded in 1764 and located in the town of Providence (Rhode Island), it is an educational institution of high prestige, as witnessed by different international rankings and its membership in the renowned Ivy League, an organization that groups eight universities (Brown itself and the universities of Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, Pennsylvania, Princeton, Yale and Dartmouth College) who share seniority and desire for excellence. Of all of them, Brown was the first to admit students of all religious denominations.

Although Brown University is currently located in Providence, its original location was in Warren, also in Rhode Island. There it remained for 6 years, until it was moved to its final location.

This was a precocious university in many respects. While other institutions take years to begin to structure a complex academic offer, with masters and doctorates, Brown already granted the first in 1888 and the second in 1889. The first modern medical studies took longer: we had to wait until 1975.

One of Brown’s hallmarks is the configuration of his curricula in undergraduate programs. After more than two centuries of history, Brown University is one of the most important on the American East Coast.


The university offers bachelor’s, master’s, medical degree and first degree professionals in the programs of more than 120 majors, such as: Social Sciences, Architecture, Public Health, Business and Business Economics, Chemistry and Geology, etc. The university operates through the Brown School of Medicine, Brown Graduate School and the School of Liberal Art and Science.

Brown University


Its 143-acre campus houses more than 230 buildings for the training of its students (about 8,000). The quality of the teaching provided makes the demand for admission very high, so the percentage of admission is low due to the limited number of places available.

All freshmen live on campus with a roommate. These mixed units range in size from 30 to 50 students. The University, through the Disability Support Services (DSS), offers a wide range of services for students with disabilities, including local coordination, counseling and support.

Representative awards

With the Award of Excellence, Brown University recognizes officials who have developed values ​​in their work that enrich the university community. In the Excellence Award the winners are nominated in seven categories: Citizenship, Diversity, Efficiency, Innovation, Excellence Management, Rising Star, and Service.

Each year, Brown University and the Black Coaches Association present the Fritz Pollard Award, which honors the college or professional coach chosen by the ACB as Coach of the Year. The award honors Frederick Douglass “Fritz” Pollard of the Brown class of 1919, the first African-American to play in a Rose Bowl game (Brown’s 1916), first as a quarterback for an NFL team, and the first coach in the NFL.

Tufts University

Tufts University. It is recognized among the premier private universities in the United States. It enjoys a worldwide reputation for academic excellence and for preparing students as leaders in a wide range of professions.


It was founded as Tufts College in 1852 by the Universalist Church of America, following a donation of land from Charles Tufts for the Walnut Hill campus. In 1954 it changed its name to the current Tufts University as a way to highlight its enormous expansion.


It has three campuses. The main one is located in Somerville / Medford, 5 miles from Boston. Another is located in the China town neighborhood of Boston, which houses the schools of Medicine, Dental Medicine, Sackler Biomedical Sciences and Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman Nutritional Science and Policy. The third is located in Grafton and houses the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine. Finally, in Talloires (France) it maintains the campus for its summer courses.

Faculties and schools

The university is organized into ten faculties and schools, of which six schools are exclusively postgraduate, one faculty is exclusively undergraduate, and the rest offer both undergraduate and postgraduate programs.

  • School of Artsand Sciences
  • School of Engineering
  • Jonathan Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service
  • Faculty of Special Studies
  • FletcherSchool of Law and Diplomacy
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Dental Medicine
  • Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Sackler Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Gerald J. and Dorothy Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy


  • Eugene Fama, economist, winner of the 2013 Nobel Prizein Economics.
  • Pierre Omidyar, creator of eBay.
  • Norbert Wiener, mathematician, founder of cybernetics.


  • The Tufts athletes, known as “Jumbos”after the university’s mascot, the elephant Jumbo
  • The University has a European Center in Talloires, France; where it offers academic programs for college students, high school students, alumni and adults.
Comments are closed.